Michael Kanter

Michael Kanter, MD

Executive Vice President, Quality and Chief Quality Officer
The Permanente Federation

Medical Director
Quality and Clinical Analysis
Southern California Permanente Medical Group

Michael Kanter, MD, is the Regional Medical Director of Quality & Clinical Analysis for the Southern California Permanente Medical Group. Dr. Kanter is also the Executive Vice President and Chief Quality Officer of the Permanente Federation and Associate Dean of Quality Science in the Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine.

Dr. Kanter received a BS in Cybernetics from UCLA and MD from UCSF. He oversees the following areas within Kaiser Permanente’s Southern California region: quality, clinical analysis and clinical practice guidelines, utilization of drugs, medical imaging and laboratory services, health education, patient safety, physician education, research and evaluation, innovation, residency programs and physician education, purchaser engagement and marketing, as well as measurement of access and service. He is on the implementation team for the Kaiser Permanente School of Medicine.

Dr. Kanter has authored more than 65 articles published in peer review journals including the New England Journal of Medicine, the Journal of the American Medical Association, and the Harvard Business Review, and authored chapters in 5 books.

Dr. Kanter is a frequent invited speaker for the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI), National Patient Safety Foundation and other major organizations on a variety of topics, including the Proactive Office Encounter, Complete Care, ambulatory patient safety and the SureNet program, how to improve the patient care experience, language concordance, and health disparities. He has participated in the Institute of Medicine Committee on Diagnostic Errors and the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) Systems Engineering for healthcare report on accelerating improvement through systems engineering. He is the co-chair of the Practice Improvement Committee of the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine and is also a member of the Standards Committee of NCQA. He has received the John C Maxwell Leadership award for being in the top 30 in 2015.